Late Summer Social

My low country boil on the table and ready to eat.
My low country boil on the table and ready to eat.

In the spring of 2014 my family and I went on a fantastic vacation to Savannah, GA and Charleston, SC.  It was my first visit to the Southeast and I fell in love. The Midwest will always be my favorite, but southern food and hospitality were too wonderful to leave behind.  Last year at the end of summer I hosted a Low Country Boil.  It was so much delicious fun that I decided to make it an annual event. This year was the 2nd Annual Late Summer Social/Low Country Boil.  Today I will be sharing some pictures from the get together.

I designed this simple invitation on canva and used Paperless Post to collect RSVPs.
I designed this simple invitation on canva and used Paperless Post to collect RSVPs.

This is such a great event to host because the food cooks up fast meaning I didn’t have to spend too much time in the kitchen away from my guests.  It is casual and lends itself to being social without being stuffy.

Fresh flowers and newspaper served as the main decor elements.
Fresh flowers and newspaper served as the main decor elements.

The menu was simple with a shrimp boil as the main course, a cold rice salad, fresh fruit, homemade pimento cheese, and crusty bread on the side.  I made peach & mint infused water in addition to a selection of canned craft beers, limonata, and sparkling waters to drink.  I had a handful of vegetarian guests so I made a small boil of just corn & potatoes and still used the  boil seasoning to add to their flavor.

Custom koozies kept drinks cold and served as party favors.
Custom koozies kept drinks cold and served as party favors.

I ordered the koozies from a seller on etsy.  This was the best option I found when looking to order a smaller quantity.  I put the same quotation from the invitation on the koozie.  In lieu of traditional food labels I wrote directly on my newspaper covered tables to let guests know what was what everything was. It was a last minute decision, but it helped me organize my table and kept me from explaining what was in each item.

Three layer with buttercream frosting and whipped cream filling. So yummy, but was a bit beyond my baking abilities.
The coconut cake was three layers with buttercream frosting and whipped cream filling. So yummy, but was a bit beyond my baking abilities.

I am lucky enough to have generous friends; many of them volunteered to bring something. One friend brought an additional appetizer and two brought extra desserts.  I made a three layer coconut cake totally from scratch, which tasted better than it looked and my friend brought a chocolate pie with a graham cracker crust and a peach pie.  Both fit perfectly with the southern theme.   It was a fantastic afternoon and I am already thinking ahead to next year.

Thanks for reading.

xo: erin

Leave a Reply

