September Door Decor

My late September fall wreath.
My late September fall wreath.

I like to add lots of seasonal decorations to my house.  For me helps to keep things from getting stale.  One of the simple ways I add changing visual interest is with the wreath on the back of my front door.  In late September it was time for my  fall wreath. I made this simple wreath a few years ago.

I used:

I traced the die-cut leaves onto some ripped out pages from the old book. After cutting them out I colored them using the paints.  I used a combination of different colors to add dimension: layered mixes of purple, brown, red, orange, yellow, and green.

A close up of my watercolor book page leaves.
A close up of my watercolor book page leaves.

After the pages dried I cut out my leaves.  Then I simply glued them onto the the wreath form layering as I saw fit.  I curled some of the edges to add a little more texture and then was done.

I didn’t use all the leaves so some went to decorate my fall table, others became gift tags for fall hostess gifts, and I made a simple fall bunting with the rest for my mantle at the time.  Paper-Source sells a similar wreath kit for $19.95, which is really nice, but this was less expensive and left be other leaves to decorate my home.

September Wreath

Thanks for visiting.

xo-erin

One thought on “September Door Decor

Leave a Reply

