October Door Decor

My October/Halloween wreath.
My October/Halloween wreath.

Last week I shared my September wreath. To welcome October and Halloween I have another wreath up.  This wreath is on my hall closet door.

It is made from book pages and antique photographs.
It is made from book pages and antique photographs.

I made this book page wreath years ago and it held a little sign that read “Welcome Book Club.” It actually traveled from host to host’s home as the book club location changed.  That book club has since disbanded and now become a book-less book club, really just a regular gathering of friends.

I got the wreath back and repurposed it for Halloween.

Instructions to make a similar wreath can be found here. Scroll down to the second style of wreath.   I just remember it involved lots of hot glue and a few burned fingers, but nothing too time consuming or difficult.  I used a black stamp pad to add some additional detail to the edges of my pages.

A close up of the three antique photos.
A close up of the three antique photos.

The black and white of the book pages had the perfect look for Halloween without being over the top.  I love antique photos.  I can spend hours going through them at flea markets and antique stores.  I had purchased three photos of graveyards/cemeteries a while ago and finally figured out what to do with them.

Using mini clothespins I attached them to the side of the wreath. Two tiny spider die-cuts finished off the details of my October wreath.   I love this wreath because it was so easy to put together and so subtly spooky.  I can always take off the photos and enjoy the wreath as I originally made it too.

My favorite (and the creepiest) of the three photos I used.
My favorite (and the creepiest) of the three photos I used.

If you want to make something similar, but can’t find any creepy antique photos I would be happy to scan mine and email them to you to print and use in your own wreath or other Halloween project.  Just send me an email.

Happy Halloween.

xo-erin

2 thoughts on “October Door Decor

    1. Thanks, Christina. I am just glad I finally found a use for them. Now I just need to decide what to do with the other vintage photos I have.

      Like

Leave a Reply

