Hostess Gift Idea: Homemade Granola

Granola Jar Close UpI am lucky enough to have a full social calendar this fall. I like to bring something small to thank my host and/or hostess for having me over. Bottles of wine are great, but when I have a little more time I like to do something a little more personal or homemade.

Last weekend my bookless-Homemade Granola Hostess Giftbook club met for a cookout and bonfire.  I made this nut-free granola to give to my friend.  I love making my own granola.  It is easy and delicious and I almost always have the ingredients in my pantry.  I made this nut-free version with old-fashioned rolled oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, butter, honey, and pumpkin seeds.  The recipe is at the end of the post and makes enough to fill the mason jar and have just enough leftover for breakfast for yourself.

To finish off the gift I popped it in a mason jar, made a label, and embellished with a burlap ribbon.

Granola LabelI wanted a simple way to say thank you for having us over!Granola Close Up

Homemade Granola Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup rolled oats
  • 3 tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 tbs. cinnamon
  • 3 tbs. butter melted
  • 3 tbs. honey
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin seeds
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl mix together  oats, brown sugar, and cinnamon.
  3. Whisk together butter and honey. You can also add some vanilla if you’d like.
  4. Pour the honey & butter mix over the oats, brown sugar, cinnamon. Stir until coated evenly.
  5. Mix in the pumpkin seeds and a pinch of salt.
  6. Spread evenly on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or foil. (It will make clean up a breeze.)
  7. Bake for 30 minutes. Stir at least once and check frequently after the 20 minute mark to make sure it toasts, but doesn’t burn.
  8. Leave on the baking sheet until cool, then break up any large pieces.
  9. Enjoy!

xo-erin

5 thoughts on “Hostess Gift Idea: Homemade Granola

      1. I think you’re right. We meet regularly (like a book club), but we do things other than discuss books (so, not like a book club). Whatever it is, I’m glad to be a part of it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

