Hostess Gift Idea: Nutella Puppy Chow

Nutella Puppy Chow

This past weekend I was lucky enough to attend another fall get together. To thank my hostess for having me over I decided to make some Puppy Chow*.  We used to be roommates so I know it is one of her favorite treats. I also decided to mix it up a bit and make it with Nutella!

*I call it puppy chow and never really knew another name for it until I was in college and a friend for California informed me that it is called muddy buddies.  When I lived in upstate New York the kids I nannied had never heard of it all and had no name for it, which shocked me even more. I don’t know if the name and snack are regional, but whatever you call it enjoy it! It is delicious and you should make some right now.

The not so secret ingredient.
The not so secret ingredient.

I used this recipe from A Beautiful Mess as a guide, but changed the quantities a little bit to use the entire box of Rice Chex.  I hate it when recipes have you use almost the whole amount of things.

Nutella Puppy Chow Label

After making the puppy chow I put about half of it in quart sized mason jar, added a ribbon and a label, and it was ready to express my gratitude. This time I made the label Halloween themed with spiderweb and the sentiment “All Treats, No Tricks!”

Puppy Chow Close Up

Nutella Puppy Chow (adapted from A Beautiful Mess)

Ingredients

  • 1 12 oz. box of Rice Chex cereal (or about 6 cups)
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tbs. creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tbs. butter
  • 3/4 cup Nutella
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar

In a microwave safe bowl combine the peanut butter, butter, and nutella.  Microwave on high for 30 seconds and then stir. If it is all smooth and melted then mix in the vanilla.  If not microwave again for 10 seconds.  Mine was done at 30 seconds, but all microwaves are different.  Be careful not to overcook it!

In a large bowl mix together the rice chex and the peanut butter, nutella, butter, vanilla, mixture.  Stir until all the rice chex are well coated.

Now for the fun part: put the powdered sugar in a gallon ziploc bag or container with tight lid add the chocolaty rice chex and SHAKE. I use a large tupperware container to shake mine up in.  Growing up we used to always shake it in a brown paper bag.  Whatever you use make sure it is sealed up tight otherwise powdered sugar will go flying.

Let cool then snack away! Store in an airtight container.

xo-erin

Leave a Reply

