Fall Dessert: Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

Last weekend I was tasked with bringing a dessert to a dinner party. I originally was thinking about bringing a custard apple tart, but one of the guests is a bit picky and I was worried that was too far out of her comfort zone to enjoy.

I did a little searching online and decided to make a peanut butter chocolate tart.  I found this recipe from Once Upon A Chef. The recipe was pretty simple, but with the addition of a layer of chocolate ganache on the top and melted dark chocolate mixed into the crust it was elevated to another level.

It was my first time making a ganache and I looked to The Kitchn for advice (like I do any time I try I new kitchen skill) and was shocked at how easy it is. I might start putting a layer on ganache on all my desserts.  The recipe has you make the chocolate topping in the microwave, but I did mine on the stove top.  I have a terrible history of burning chocolate in the microwave.  It takes ever so slightly longer on the stove, but I could keep a much better eye on it.

Homemade Whipped Cream

I served it with lightly sweetened homemade whipped cream.   Everyone loved the recipe and did not believe me when I said it was so easy to make.  I changed Jenn’s recipe a tiny bit using 3/4 of a cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar for a richer flavor in the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Pie

The peanut butter filling was almost too sweet for my taste, I was happy to have the fresh whipped cream on the side to lighten it up a little up.  If I was going to make it again I think I would cut the sugar in half and use 1/4 white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar.  Other than that (and I was the only one who thought it was too sweet) it was perfect.  The recipe can be found here.

Peanut Butter Pie Chilling
The hardest part was letting it chill in the fridge and not just eating it up.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

