Hallway Update

7-IMG_2144

I really like wallpaper. I really really really like wallpaper. I would wallpaper every room in my house if I had the budget, but sadly I don’t.

I originally had planned to wallpaper my dining room. I ordered about 50 samples looked at every wallpaper vendor online, but couldn’t settle on a pattern/print/design.  Don’t worry the samples were put to good use; I turned them into envelopes.

I did use wallpaper to add some charm to my kitchen.  I used the paradise fields pattern in chalk from Cath Kidston to make a backsplash on the wall with the sink. With help from my mom the backsplash went up very easily and added the exact pop of color and character I was looking for.  I love the way it looks and it honestly makes me smile every time I do the dishes. I also used magnets to attach a sheet to the side of my fridge.

1-IMG_2130
boring, right?

A few months ago I came to the conclusion that my hallway needed that same pop of color and character. The first thing a visitor to my house would see is a big white wall with a boring wood door.  I was inspired by this hand-painted wall, this stunning staircase, and this recycled hall update.

3-IMG_2139

I went with another Cath Kidston wallpaper. This time going with the Birds & Roses pattern in cream.  The pink coordinates well with my rose quartz living room walls, the blue coordinates with my blue dining room, and the green, yellow, and brown worked with my hall rug.

 

 

 

Again I had my wallpaper expert Mom come to help hang it up. It was a pretty quick project (a few hours on a Sunday evening) since there were only 3 sheets needed.  The hard part was that my walls are 9 feet high and no one in my family is very tall. Thankfully my cousins have a big ladder and live around the corner.

2-IMG_2133

I am so happy with how it turned out. With the cream background  of the paper it is still colorful without being overwhelming.  I plan on using some of the extra paper to cover some decorative boxes in the living room and make some mats for picture frames as well. I think I will keep my eye on the Cath Kidston sale section as well because I would love to get the matching pillows for my couch when/if they go on sale.

I would love to know your thoughts on my hallway update. I would also love to know if you have any ideas for my extra wallpaper.  There is a decent amount leftover and I would much rather use it than store it in the closet. What do you think?

Thanks for visiting! xo-erin

 

Leave a Reply

